Smithills Hall and Estate
Smithills Dean Road,
Smithills Hall, which dates back over 800 years, was purchased by Bolton County Borough Council in 1938 for the use of the citizens of Bolton and surrounding boroughs. Smithills Hall came back under Bolton Council's umbrella on the 1st of April 2006.
Visitors can enjoy history in the surroundings of a building that stretches from the 14th century to the glorious period of the Arts and Craft revolution of the late 19th century.
In the 19th century Richard Ainsworth, 'The Opulent Bleacher' bought Smithills Hall and this family occupied the hall until 1938. The Ainsworth family were so wealthy that they were able to employ George Devey, one of the finest architects in Britain, to make further extensions to the hall. In 1938, Nigel Ainsworth sold Smithills Hall to Bolton Corporation. Bolton Corporation restored the most ancient parts of the Hall and opened these to the public as a museum.
The western half of the building was used by the social services department for a variety of purposes. In 2000, three newly restored and refurbished rooms were opened to the public for the first for the public to enjoy.
Pre-booked school workshops and teacher resource pack
Group visits daytime/evening by prior arrangement
Weddings and special events are hosted on Saturdays throughout the year.
Meeting rooms available for hire.
All information correct at the time of publishing